



Resolution 10 of 2022

A Resolution of North Franklin Township, Washington County, supporting the Pennsylvania Commission for the United States Semiquincentennial

WHEREAS, the Pennsylvania General Assembly and Governor Wolf created the Pennsylvania Commission for the United States Semiquincentennial (America250PA) in 2018 to plan, encourage, develop, and coordinate the commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the United States in 2026 and Pennsylvania's integral role in that event, and the impact of its people on the nation's past, present and future; and

WHEREAS, America250PA hopes to engage all citizens of the Commonwealth, bring the Commonwealth's history into the conversation so Pennsylvanians can better understand the origins and multiple perspectives of issues facing our Commonwealth and nation today, and use history to encourage and inspire future leaders, celebrate the contributions of Pennsylvanians to not only the Commonwealth's history, but also to our Nation's history.

WHEREAS, America250PA wishes to leave a lasting impact on the next generation of Pennsylvanians and to spark an interest which will ignite the drive for them to appreciate all of the triumphs, trials and tribulations which contributed to the Commonwealth for which they are now writing their own history; and

WHEREAS, America250PA will have numerous officially recognized programs, projects, and events over the next five years to inspire future leaders and celebrate all Pennsylvanians' contributions to the United States over the past 250 years.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that North Franklin Township hereby endorses America250PA and its mission to Educate, Preserve, Innovate and Celebrate the rich history and diversity of the state; and

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the township's state senator and representative and PSATS.

ADOPTED THIS 10th DAY OF MAY, 2022.

ATTEST:

Jacquelan MKoteta

Jacquel re M. Kotchman Secretary/Treasurer NORTH FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP WASHINGTON COUNTY, PA

Robert A. Sabot, Chairman Board of Supervisors